2015 All-CACC Men's Basketball Teams Announced: Garret Kerr Wins Third-Straight Player-of-the-Year Award

2015 All-CACC Men's Basketball Teams Announced: Garret Kerr Wins Third-Straight Player-of-the-Year Award

NEW HAVEN, Conn. (February 27, 2015) – University of the Sciences standout Garret Kerr on Friday was named the 2015 Central Atlantic Collegiate Conference (CACC) Men’s Basketball Player of the Year, as announced by Commissioner Dan Mara. It marks the third-consecutive year Kerr received the honor, as he becomes the first player in conference history to win the award three times.

Joining Kerr as major year-end award winners were Post University’s Matt Mareno, who was named the CACC Rookie of the Year; and Holy Family University’s Isaiah Gans, who won the inaugural CACC Defensive Player-of-the-Year award. USciences head coach David Pauley was named the CACC Coach of the Year for leading the Devils to the CACC South Division Championship. The USciences program was also recognized on the day, as the Devils claimed the Team Sportsmanship Award. 

Kerr had a sensational regular season for the Devils, as he averaged 25.0 points, 12.7 rebounds, and 4.1 assists per game in leading the squad to the South Division title and the No. 1 overall seed in the upcoming CACC Championship.

The senior forward, who was named the Basketball Times Division II Preseason National Player of the Year, leads the CACC in a multitude of categories, including scoring average, total points (674), rebounding, total rebounds (344), total defensive rebounds (248), and field goals made (250). He also ranks among the top-three in the league in minutes (3rd, 38.7), free throws made (2nd, 145), offensive rebounds (2nd, 96), and steals (3rd, 48).

Mareno picked up the conference’s top rookie award following an impressive freshman debut in the regular season that saw him average 13.5 points and 8.6 rebounds per game.

He ranks fourth in the CACC in rebounding and fifth with 38 blocks. Mareno’s production went up even further in conference play, as he averaged 14.3 points a night within the CACC, while totaling 32 of his 38 blocks during that span. He also averaged 8.9 boards a night in league play.

Gans took home the inaugural top defensive award following a regular season that saw him compete as one of the stingiest defenders in the East Region.

The junior forward ranked second in the CACC with 55 blocks, including 45 in conference play, while also ranking fourth with 163 total defensive rebounds. He helped key a Holy Family defensive effort that led the CACC in opposing field goal percentage (39.4%) and ranked third in allowing the fewest points per game (69.1 ppg). The Tigers also led the CACC in blocks with 4.6 swats a night.

Pauley earned coach-of-the-year honors after guiding USciences to a 23-4 overall record, a 17-2 mark in league play, and the CACC South Division Championship. The Devils at one point during the regular season jumped to No. 1 in the D2SIDA East Region Media Poll, while also making an appearance in the NABC Division II Top-25 Poll. Another highlight on the year for USciences was its thrilling 54-52 win at Division I-foe Drexel, which drew national recognition on ESPN Sports Center. 

Kerr was named to the All-CACC First-Team as well, and was joined on that unit by Caldwell University’s Michael Balkovic, Philadelphia University’s Nick Schlitzer, Dominican College’s Nick Smith, and Bloomfield College’s Marvin Williams.

Gans was tabbed on the All-CACC Second-Team, and joined up with other second-team honorees, including Philadelphia U.’s Peter Alexis, Holy Family’s Reggie Charles, USciences’ Sho Da-Silva, and PhilaU’s Derek Johnson.

The All-CACC Third-Team included Mareno, along with Post teammate Nardie Bogues, Goldey-Beacom College’s Joey Getz, Nyack College’s Nick Moore, and Felician College’s J.R. Pringley. 

Voting for the all-conference teams, player of the year, rookie of the year, defensive player of the year, and team sportsmanship was conducted by the conference’s 14 head coaches in the sport. Voting for coach of the year was determined by the league’s 14 sports information directors.

The announcement of the all-conference team comes just 24 hours before the 2015 CACC Men’s Basketball Championship tips off Saturday afternoon with the quarterfinal round at the sight of the highest seeds. The four winners from Saturday’s slate will advance to the championship weekend March 6-7 at Philadelphia University with the semifinals on Friday followed by the championship final on Saturday. The winner of the CACC Championship will receive the league’s automatic bid to the NCAA Division II Tournament East Regional, which will be held March 14-15 and 17 at a site to be determined.

The Central Atlantic Collegiate Conference is an NCAA Division II Conference composed of 14 institutions in Connecticut, Delaware, New Jersey, New York, and Pennsylvania. The member institutions are Bloomfield College, Caldwell University, Chestnut Hill College, Concordia (N.Y.) College, Dominican (N.Y.) College, Felician College, Georgian Court University, Goldey-Beacom College, Holy Family University, Nyack College, Philadelphia University, Post University of Waterbury, University of the Sciences, and Wilmington University.

Michael Balkovic (Caldwell)
Garret Kerr (USciences)
Nick Schlitzer (Philadelphia U.)
Nick Smith (Dominican)
Marvin Williams (Bloomfield

Peter Alexis (Philadelphia U.)
Reggie Charles (Holy Family)
Sho Da-Silva (USciences)
Isaiah Gans (Holy Family)
Derek Johnson (Philadelphia U.)

Nardie Bogues (Post)
Joey Getz (Goldey-Beacom)
Matt Mareno (Post)
Nick Moore (Nyack)
J.R. Pringley (Felician)

PLAYER OF THE YEAR: Garret Kerr (USciences)
ROOKIE OF THE YEAR: Matt Mareno (Post)
COACH OF THE YEAR: David Pauley (USciences)