Perez, Johnson, Goldey-Beacom Honored, Along With All-Conference Basketball Teams

February 28, 2005

NEWARK, N.J. – Sophomore guard Andre Dabney of Bloomfield College was named Central Atlantic Collegiate Conference Men’s Basketball Player of the Year in balloting released today. Manny Perez of Caldwell College won the CACC’s inaugural Newcomer of the Year Award, and Holy Family University’s Alfred Johnson was named Coach of the Year. The voting was done by the league’s 11 head coaches.

Dabney, of Plainfield, N.J., was an all-region selection as a freshman. This season, he ranks eighth in the CACC in scoring (15.6 ppg) and is also in the top 10 in assists, steals and three-pointers. Bloomfield tied for first place and is the top seed in the upcoming CACC Tournament.

Perez,a freshman from Egg Harbor, N.J., is the league’s leading scorer among newcomers (15.6 ppg). He also averages 6.1 rebounds while shooting .582 from the floor. Johnson has guided Holy Family to an 18-9 overall record, which represents a four-win improvement over last year. The Tigers are the No. 2 seed in the CACC playoffs after being selected ninth in the preseason coaches’ poll.

The CACC’s annual Team Sportsmanship Award went to Goldey-Beacom College, coached by Charles Hammond, for the second consecutive year. The league also announced the all-CACC teams, which are listed below.

2004-05 All-CACC Men’s Basketball Teams
First Team
Guard - Andre Dabney, Bloomfield, SO, Plainfield, N.J.
Foward - Lataiva Escho, Nyack, JR, Syracuse, N.Y.
Guard - Ryan Haigh, Holy Family, JR, Philadelphia, Pa.
Forward - Bob Presner, Holy Family, SR, Newtown, Pa.
   Forward - Javier Salson, Bloomfield, SR, Madrid, Spain

Second Team
Guard - Clayton Barker, NJIT, SO, Passaic, N.J.
Guard- Antaeus Hayes, Nyack, SR, Greenbelt, Md.
Forward - Manny Perez, Caldwell, FR, Egg Harbor, N.J.
Center - Marc Milbourne Swan, NJIT, SO, Pleasantville, N.J.
Guard - Danny Terrell, Bloomfield, JR, Somerdale, N.J.

Third Team
Center - Chris Brattelli, USP, SR, Clementon, N.J.
Guard - Ron Harris, Caldwell, SR, Trenton, N.J.
Guard - Chris Kozole, Holy Family, JR, Philadelphia, Pa.
Forward - Gene Willard, USP, SR, Broomall, Pa.
Guard - Sadot Williams, Felician, JR, Irvington, N.J.   

Player of The Year: Andre Dabney
, Bloomfield
Newcomer of the Year
: Manny Perez
, Caldwell
Coach of the Year
: Alfred Johnson, Holy Family
Team Sportsmanship Award: Goldey-Beacom